Johnny Hollow

It isn’t very often that I get this excited when discovering new musical acts. The latest band I have had the pleasure of coming across is ‘Johnny Hollow’. They are a very awesome blend of Goth, Ambient & Electronica. Personally I don’t think the 3 of those genres does an explanation of their sound any justice. They are unique and I have really enjoyed listening to them over the last few days. I discovered them through the artist My Pet Skeleton, which I have been a fan of for quite some time, but never really saw a connection between both, until recently.
Currently only one of their albums is available on iTunes. I can not seem to find their most recent release for sale via digital download. It is however, on their site for streaming, but not of the best quality of course.
I don’t know exactly what it is about them that strikes me. Maybe it’s partly due to that fact that it brings me back to my youth listening to bands with this sort of sound, or maybe it strikes a chord with that section of my mind that I feel so comfortable in. You know, like when you find that right piece of clothing, that you feel and look your best in, that you feel the most comfortable and invincible. This style of music sort of massages the creative area of my mind. The place i like to go prior to starting projects, or even where i like to spend my time during projects, whether for inspiration or just for the nurturing of the creative organism.
Anyway, that is it for now. I just wanted to share this little find.

*edit- also i wanted to comment on how awesome their site is.

~ by Admin on November 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
